2Pac in Blue Bic

scan0002

This was interesting. I went to do a 2Pac portrait for an art trade with a tattoo artist out of Fresno, CA and I had so much trouble getting the proportions right. I went ahead with 2 reference images this time; one for his face/gesture and the other for the handkerchief (the chain was free-handed.) Anyway, somewhere in the process, I was losing his likeness in the initial line drawing so I busted out a blue pen and went to work. For some reason I’ve yet to discover, the pen approach worked out in my favor. I was able to pinpoint the proportions of his face and, in the end, realized a lot of the trouble was coming from the nose to mouth area. So now on to toned paper 🙂

2Pac in Blue Bic

What Do You Think?

