Neptune and Working on Toned Paper

Here, I will try to get into my process a bit more for those readers who want to explore my techniques in their own work. I usually start off with a general idea of what I want to draw, with the exception of a few drawings that just explode onto the page. With this piece in particular, I was inspired by a profile I follow on Instagram; @SketchDailies. The page is awesome. They just post random images to inspire the artists that follow; at least that’s what I get from it. The topic was Poseidon. Usually, the God of the Sea is depicted as a human of some kind, usually with a trident… I hate drawing what has been drawn before. I decided to go with a more believable inhabitant of an underwater kingdom. I usually start off with a very, very light line drawing, done with the graphite pencil dancing on its side ( I sharpen my pencils with an Xacto blade to about a half inch exposed lead.) Studying at the Academy of Art has this tip hammered into my brain; don’t focus on the details in the beginning stages of a drawing. So drawing with the pencil sideways lets you more easily be able to draw in vague generalizations.

Neptune

After I establish the idea, I darken parts of the outline. I only darken the outline in the foreground and where there is shadow. Then, I bust out the equally-sharpened white charcoal pencil. For me, this is where the fun starts. I usually point my actual light source in the direction I want the light source to be in the drawing. I then draw in my strongest highlights (eyes, shiny material, subcutaneous points, jewelry, etc.) I always keep in mind what is in the foreground and only use my white charcoal pencil there. Notice in this stage, I don’t draw in any highlights on the arm nor on the trident. I also keep in mind not to go too heavy on any value just yet. I am still only laying down a foundation. Oh yea, and I lightly draw in my  cast shadows. Observe them under the finned armpit, teeth and the head.

Neptune

Now, the final stage. This is usually where I have a hard time stopping myself and leaving the drawing with some of its original energy and vibrancy. Fortunately, this one was pushed up right to that edge. Here, I pretty much just push the values. I darken where I want it darker and add more white to where it may need it. It really, really helps to take breaks in between these three stages because I’ve found a lot of times I lose objectivity (God I hope I used that word right.) For example, I noticed there was something wrong with the arm and realized it lacked the cast shadow from the head. Duh, right? Anyway, the break also helped me figure out what I wanted to do with the trident. I added the gem and made the handle spiraled. As for the pattern, it’s like taking  girl’s virginity; go slow. I turn it with the form of what it’s on to help give the illusion that it’s on the skin rather than just a blob floating in space. Lastly, I add the eye color. I used to incorporate about 3 colors into the eye to give it depth, but lately I’ve just been using one and making it more of a solid opaque ball as opposed to translucent.

Neptune

There is so much more that goes into my thought process, so I will try to fill in the gaps with future posts. But that’s all for now. Hope whoever reads this finds it useful.

Neptune and Working on Toned Paper

What Do You Think?

