Rebirth

I think I’m onto something…

WC_2 WC_3

I’m going deep into some experimentation. Trying to find a way to combine my creature busts with some color. I’m just not sure if watercolor would be best for that.  But dammit I’m having so much fun that I might end up taking on a whole different body of work…

What I do pretty much is layer, layer, and layer. That is what watercolor is all about. I start off with a non-photo blue pencil under-drawing. Then do a light wash with the local color I want my piece to be. I use my gf’s blowdryer as a heat gun to hurry the drying. After more layering, I finish it off with some Prismacolor verithin colored pencils. These work best on the textured watercolor paper, which is what I’m painting on.

(On the second piece I used white gouache for the highlights and micron pen to push the outline in some parts:)

Rebirth

2 thoughts on “Rebirth

  1. wow these are really amazing and so beautiful. I look forward to seeing more of your work. You should look at some of the work on my blog lilybunny.com let me know what you think and maybe follow back if you like 🙂

What Do You Think?

