Creature Design

Here’s a creature design from start to finish…

I’ll make this quick. I did a bunch of thumbnails to get a good silhouette of a creature. This is by far the funnest part of the process. No thumbnail is wrong because it just leads to better and more unique ideas. After this, I took some of my favorite silhouettes, enlarged them in Photoshop, printed it out, and traced over it on marker paper to further explore the silhouette. Then, I did the same process to find an interesting head shape. Finally, I roughed out the orthographic view with a 20% french grey prismacolor marker, added some different colors and values and cleaned it up in Photoshop. The last thing I did was the action poses. I’ll be posting the skeleton and muscles once those are done. Enjoy.

Creature Design

What Do You Think?

